Friday, January 16, 2015

AUDIOBOOK REVIEW: The DNF Edition

*Thank you to the publishers for providing copies of these audiobooks in exchange for honest reviews*

 ~ Please note that while these titles may not have worked for me, links to 5 Star Reviews are included. ~


The Conspiracy of UsAuthor: Maggie Hall
Publication: January 13, 2015
By: Listening Library
Amazon | Goodreads

A fast-paced international escapade, laced with adrenaline, glamour, and romance--perfect for fans of Ally Carter.

Avery West's newfound family can shut down Prada when they want to shop in peace, and can just as easily order a bombing when they want to start a war. Part of a powerful and dangerous secret society called the Circle, they believe Avery is the key to an ancient prophecy. Some want to use her as a pawn. Some want her dead.


To unravel the mystery putting her life in danger, Avery must follow a trail of clues from the monuments of Paris to the back alleys of Istanbul with two boys who work for the Circle--beautiful, volatile Stellan and mysterious, magnetic Jack. But as the clues expose a stunning conspiracy that might plunge the world into World War 3, she discovers that both boys are hiding secrets of their own. Now she will have to choose not only between freedom and family--but between the boy who might help her save the world, and the one she's falling in love with.


The cover is pretty and the synopsis is intriguing, but for me, this does not live up to the hype. For starters, I never got a feel for who Avery was as an MC or why I should care about her story. I kept waiting for something exciting to happen, or for Avery to finally freak out about having just been kidnapped and taken halfway around the world, but instead, all she can focus on is maybe-but-probably-not meeting her father. In Paris. Where she gets to shop at Prada and spend time with two cute boys. DNF at 50%.

For a 5 Star Review of this book, click HERE.



Dead of Winter (The Arcana Chronicles #3)Series: The Arcana Chronicles #3
Author: Kresley Cole
Publication: Januay 6, 2015
By: Simon & Schuster Audio
Amazon | Goodreads

Can Evie convince her rival loves to work together? Their survival depends on it in this third book of #1 New York Times bestselling author Kresley Cole’s Arcana Chronicles, a nonstop action tale of rescue, redemption, and a revenge most wicked.

Heartbreaking decisions
Evie was almost seduced by the life of comfort that Death offered her—until Jack was threatened by two of the most horrific Arcana, the Lovers. She will do anything to save him, even escape Death’s uncanny prison, full of beautiful objects, material comforts…and stolen glances from a former love.

Uncertain victory
Despite leaving a part of her heart behind with Death, Evie sets out into a perilous post-apocalyptic wasteland to meet up with her allies and launch an attack on the Lovers. Such formidable enemies require a battle plan, and the only way to kill them may mean Evie, Jack, and Death allying. Evie doesn’t know what will prove more impossible: surviving slavers, plague, Bagmen and other Arcana—or convincing Jack and Death to work together.

Two heroes returned
There’s a thin line between love and hate, and Evie just doesn’t know where she stands with either Jack or Death. Will this unlikely trio be able to defeat The Lovers without killing one another first...?


My plan was to binge listen to this series, and I tried, I really, really tried, but I am not a fan of this narrator. Combine that with the tarot cards and the love triangle, and it just wasn't the book for me. DNF 10%

For a 5 Star Review of this book, click HERE.



I Was HereAuthor: Gayle Forman
Publication: Januray 27, 2015
By: Listening Library 
Amazon | Goodreads

Cody and Meg were inseparable.
Two peas in a pod.
Until . . . they weren’t anymore.

When her best friend Meg drinks a bottle of industrial-strength cleaner alone in a motel room, Cody is understandably shocked and devastated. She and Meg shared everything—so how was there no warning? But when Cody travels to Meg’s college town to pack up the belongings left behind, she discovers that there’s a lot that Meg never told her. About her old roommates, the sort of people Cody never would have met in her dead-end small town in Washington. About Ben McAllister, the boy with a guitar and a sneer, who broke Meg’s heart. And about an encrypted computer file that Cody can’t open—until she does, and suddenly everything Cody thought she knew about her best friend’s death gets thrown into question.

I Was Here is Gayle Forman at her finest, a taut, emotional, and ultimately redemptive story about redefining the meaning of family and finding a way to move forward even in the face of unspeakable loss.
 


I read both If I Stay and Where She Went back when they were first published and thoroughly enjoyed Gayle Forman's writing and story telling style. With all of the hype surrounding I Was Here, I was really excited to read it, but unfortunately, it didn't work for me. DNF 10%

For a 5 Star Review of this book, click HERE.


Snow Like Ashes Series: Snow Like Ashes #1
Author: Sara Raasch
Publication: October 14, 2014
By: Harper Audio
Amazon | Goodreads 

Sixteen years ago the Kingdom of Winter was conquered and its citizens enslaved, leaving them without magic or a monarch. Now the Winterians' only hope for freedom is the eight survivors who managed to escape, and who have been waiting for the opportunity to steal back Winter's magic and rebuild the kingdom ever since.

Orphaned as an infant during Winter's defeat, Meira has lived her whole life as a refugee, raised by the Winterians' general, Sir. Training to be a warrior—and desperately in love with her best friend and future king, Mather—she would do anything to help Winter rise to power again.

So when scouts discover the location of the ancient locket that can restore their magic, Meira decides to go after it herself. Finally, she's scaling towers and fighting enemy soldiers just as she's always dreamed she would. But the mission doesn't go as planned, and Meira soon finds herself thrust into a world of evil magic and dangerous politics—and ultimately comes to realize that her destiny is not, never has been, her own.

Sara Raasch's debut fantasy is a lightning-fast tale of loyalty, love, and finding one's destiny.


High fantasy is hit or miss with me and if I'm already having trouble keeping track of characters, kingdoms and creatures, a narrator who is slow or unable to stay "in accent" makes it worse. That's what happened to me with this one. However, I do have a physical copy, so I'm going to give it another shot. DNF 25%

For a 5 Star Review of this book, click HERE.

 

1 comment: