Skip to main content

Posts

Showing posts from 2015

Bad Kitty Goes To The Vet by Nick Bruel

Series: BAD KITTY
Author:Nick Bruel
Publication: January 5, 2016
By: Roaring Brook Press
Amazon | Goodreads

A sick kitty is an unhappy kitty.
An unhappy kitty is a BAD kitty.

When Kitty is happy and healthy, everything is perfect. She jumps around, eats everything in sight, and has the energy she needs to keep slobbering puppies in their place. But when she’s sick, all she can do is lie in her bed. Looks like it’s time for this sick kitty to visit her least favorite person . . . the vet.









*I received a copy from the publisher in exchange for an honest review*

~ Review by The 11 Year Old ~
Describe This Book in 5 Words: Funny. Awesome. Enjoyable. Recommended. Satisfied.

Favorite Part: I don't want to spoil anything, but...what happens to Bad Kitty when the Vet puts her under anesthesia was my favorite part.

Favorite Character: The Vet because he's funny.

Would I Recommended This to other kids: Yes, because it can be enjoyed by all ages.





Audiobook Review: A Little In Love by Susan Fletcher

Author: Susan Fletcher
Narrator:Melody Grove
Publication: August 25, 2015
By: Recorded Books
Amazon | Goodreads | Recorded Books

Inspired by Victor Hugo's classic Les Miserables, A Little in Love beautifully conveys the heartbreaking story of street girl Eponine. Paris, 1832 - a girl lies alone in the darkness, clutching a letter to her heart. Eponine remembers being a child: her swing and the peach tree and the baby brother she loved.

Mostly she remembers being miserable. Taught to lie and cheat and to hate the one girl, Cosette, who might have been her friend. Now, at 16, the two girls meet again, and Eponine has one more chance. But what is the price of friendship - the love of a boy?



*I received a copy of this audiobook from the publisher in exchange for an honest review* 
Audio: Melody Grove does a fantastic job of bringing Eponine and the rest of the characters to life. Her French is flawless and her accent made the whole experience much more enjoyable. 

Story: I love Les Misérab…

Thicker Than Water by Brigid Kemmerer

Author: Brigid Kemmerer
Publication:December 29, 2015
By: Kensington Books
Amazon | B&N | Goodreads
4.5 Stars! 

On his own

Thomas Bellweather hasn’t been in town long. Just long enough for his newlywed mother to be murdered, and for his new stepdad’s cop colleagues to decide Thomas is the primary suspect.

Not that there’s any evidence. But before Thomas got to Garretts Mill there had just been one other murder in twenty years.

The only person who believes him is Charlotte Rooker, little sister to three cops and, with her soft hands and sweet curves, straight-up dangerous to Thomas. Her best friend was the other murder vic. And she’d like a couple answers.

Answers that could get them both killed, and reveal a truth Thomas would die to keep hidden…




*Thank you to Kaye Publicity and Kensington for providing a copy for review*

My initial reaction upon finishing: HOLY CRAP THAT WAS GOOD!

I LOVE this cover.

Action, suspense, romance, and mystery---THICKER THAN WATER has it all. I'm usua…

#ApollyConOfficial Update

ApollyCon 2016 is less than 3 months away, have you purchased your tickets yet? Purchase tickets HERE: https://www.eventbrite.com/e/apollycon-2016-the-power-by-jennifer-l-armentrout-release-party-tickets-17295152266

You can find the full line-up of authors and all the event details HERE: http://apollycon.com
Not sure if you can attend? Check out the virtual bookstore! You can order signed/personalized copies. OPEN TO INTERNATIONAL readers too. http://www.apollycon.com/p/book-sales.html
SPECIAL GUESTS Model Drew Leighty as Seth from the Titans Series.
Model Pepe Toth as Daemon Black from the Lux Series

The Golden Braid (Hagenheim #6) by Melanie Dickerson

Series:Hagenheim #6 Author:Melanie Dickerson Publication: November 17, 2015 By: Thomas Nelson Amazon | B&N | Goodreads
The one who needs rescuing isn’t always the one in the tower.

Rapunzel can throw a knife better than any man around. And her skills as an artist rival those of any artist she’s met. But for a woman in medieval times, the one skill she most desires is the hardest one to obtain: the ability to read.

After yet another young man asks for Rapunzel’s hand in marriage, Mother decides they need to move once again, but this time to a larger city. Rapunzel’s heart soars—surely there she can fulfill her dream. But Mother won’t let her close to a man. She claims that no man can be trusted.

After being rescued by a knight on the road to the city, and in turn rescuing him farther down the road, Rapunzel’s opportunity arrives at last. This knight, Sir Gerek, agrees to educate Rapunzel in order to pay back his debt. She just has to put up with his arrogant nature and single-…

BLOG TOUR + GIVEAWAY: Tell Me Three Things by Julie Buxbaum

Author: Julie Buxbaum
Publication: April 15, 2016
By: Delacorte Press
Amazon | B&N | Goodreads 

What if the person you need the most is someone you’ve never met?

Julie Buxbaum mixes comedy and tragedy, love and loss, pain and elation, in her debut YA novel whose characters will come to feel like friends. Tell Me Three Things will appeal to fans of Rainbow Rowell, Jennifer Niven, and E. Lockhart.

Everything about Jessie is wrong. At least, that’s what it feels like during her first week at her new ultra-intimidating prep school in Los Angeles. Just when she’s thinking about hightailing it back to Chicago—the closest place she has to something like home—she gets an email from a person calling themselves Somebody/Nobody (SN for short), offering to help her navigate the wilds of Wood Valley High School. Is it an elaborate hoax? Or can she rely on SN for some much-needed help?

The thing is, Jessie does need help. It’s been barely two years since her mother’s death, and because her father elo…

OMG Shakespeare: Macbeth #killingit & A Midsummer Night #nofilter

*Thank you Cassie McGinty and Random House for providing bound galleys in exchange for honest reviews*


Title: Macbeth #killingit
Series:OMG Shakespeare Author(s):, Publication: January 5, 2016 By: Random House Books for Young Readers 
Amazon | B&N | Goodreads

Macbeth, one of the greatest stories ever told . . . in texts?!

Imagine: What if that tragic couple, Macbeth and Lady Macbeth, had smartphones? A classic is reborn in this fun and funny adaptation of one of Shakespeare’s most famous plays!

A prophecy from three witches.
A social-climbing couple committing a murder most foul.
A cover-up that spins way out of control.

and h8. The classics just got a whole lot more interesting. ;)

tl;dr A Shakespeare play told through its characters texting with emojis, posting photos, checking in at locations, and updating their relationship statuses. The perfect gift for hip theater lovers and teens.

A glossary and cast of characters are included for those …

Naughty or Nice Holiday Giveaway by Harlequin Romance Report

Add some spice to your holidays with Harlequin Romance Report's Naughty or Nice Giveaway!





~ GIVEAWAY ~~ One Winner
~ US/Canada Only (not Quebec) ~ Must be 18 years old to enter.
~ Winner must respond within 24 hours or another winner will be chosen.
~ Publisher will mail out prize pack, Jenuine Cupcakes not responsible for lost prizes. 
~ Some titles in ebook format. 
a Rafflecopter giveaway

BLOG TOUR + BAKING WITH DAEMON: Oblivion by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Welcome to Jenuine Cupcakes, this is my stop on the OBLIVION blog tour.  In preparation for OBLIVION'S release, I invited Daemon over to bake chocolate chip cupcakes for Katy. So far, the only one doing any actual baking is me. Daemon is sitting here with my laptop reading through Katy's latest blog posts, and looking pretty. 
Jen: Say hello to the readers, Daemon. And stop eating the chocolate chips, those are for the cupcakes.  Daemon:*looks up* I thought we were making cookies.  

Jen: Nope. *mixes flour and sugar* But speaking of cookies, what is your favorite type of cookie?
Daemon: Any cookie Kat wants.

Jen: Smart guy. Hand me the bowl with the eggs, please. *adds eggs, milk, butter, oil* Out of all the girls on Earth, what drew you to Katy and why did you pick her?  
Daemon: She didn’t put up with any of my crap. I liked that. Really liked that. A lot. There wasn’t any one reason behind why I wanted her once I got to know her. It was because she’s Kat. 

Jen: I liked that she …

Blog Tour: Anna & The Swallow Man by Gavriel Savit

Author: Gavriel Savit
Publication: January 26, 2015
By: Knopf Books for Young Readers
Amazon | B&N | Goodreads

Anna and the Swallow Man is a stunning, literary, and wholly original debut novel that tells a new WW2 story.

Kraków, 1939, is no place to grow up. There are a million marching soldiers and a thousand barking dogs. And Anna Lania is just seven years old when the Germans take her father and suddenly, she’s alone.

Then she meets the Swallow Man. He is a mystery, strange and tall. And like Anna's missing father, he has a gift for languages: Polish, Russian, German, Yiddish, even Bird. When he summons a bright, beautiful swallow down to his hand to stop her from crying, Anna is entranced.

Over the course of their travels together, Anna and the Swallow Man will dodge bombs, tame soldiers, and even, despite their better judgement, make a friend. But in a world gone mad, everything can prove dangerous . . .



*I received a copy of this from the publisher in exchange for a…

Fast & Furious Friday Reviews

It's been awhile since I've done a Fast & Furious Friday post, but here are a couple rapid-fire reviews of books that are worth checking out. 


Title:Up To This Pointe 
Author:Jennifer Longo
Publication: January 19th 2016 
By: Random House Books for Young Readers
Genre: Young Adult 
Amazon | Goodreads  
3 Stars

A refreshingly original contemporary YA, unlike anything readers have seen before. Perfect for fans of Jandy Nelson, John Corey Whaley, and Libba Bray.

She had a plan. It went south.

Harper is a dancer. She and her best friend, Kate, have one goal: becoming professional ballerinas. And Harper won’t let anything—or anyone—get in the way of The Plan, not even the boy she and Kate are both drawn to.

Harper is a Scott. She’s related to Robert Falcon Scott, the explorer who died racing to the South Pole. So when Harper’s life takes an unexpected turn, she finagles (read: lies) her way to the icy dark of McMurdo Station . . . in Antarctica. Extreme, but somehow f…

BLOG BLITZ: The Rogue Not Taken (Scandal & Scoundrel #1) by Sarah MacLean

Announcing a sublime – and scandalously wonderful – new series from New York Times, USA Today and Washington Post bestselling author Sarah MacLean!  The author aroused immediate interest when she announced this high-concept affair: “I'm thrilled to announce my next project -- the Scandal & Scoundrel series, which I pitched to my editor as ‘Old School TMZ,’" says MacLean. “It’s modern celebrity gossip with a pre-Victorian twist. Basically, this is my way of convincing my husband that all those glossy magazines in our house are ‘work necessities.’
THE ROGUE NOT TAKEN Publication: December 29, 2015 By: Avon Books ISBN 9780062379412; eISBN 9780062379399
Lady Sophie’s Society Splash
When Sophie, the least interesting of the Talbot sisters, lands her philandering brother-in-law backside-first in a goldfish pond in front of all society, she becomes the target of very public aristocratic scorn. Her only choice is to flee London, vowing to start a new life far from the aristocracy.…