Skip to main content

Even In Paradise by Chelsey Philpot

Even in Paradise
Author: Chelsey Philpot
Publication: October 14, 2014
By: Harper Collins 
Amazon | Book Depository | Goodreads 
3.75 Stars

When Julia Buchanan enrolls at St. Anne’s at the beginning of junior year, Charlotte Ryder already knows all about the former senator’s daughter. Most people do... or think they do.

Charlotte certainly never expects she’ll be Julia’s friend. But almost immediately, she is drawn into the larger than-life-new girl’s world—a world of midnight rendezvous, dazzling parties, palatial vacation homes, and fizzy champagne cocktails. And then Charlotte meets, and begins falling for, Julia’s handsome older brother, Sebastian.

But behind her self-assured smiles and toasts to the future, Charlotte soon realizes that Julia is still suffering from a tragedy. A tragedy that the Buchanan family has kept hidden … until now.


*I received this from the publisher in exchange for an honest review*

The pretty cover is what initially drew me to this book, but it was the poetic writing and flawed characters that kept me reading. The Buchanans reminded me a lot of the Kennedys, and it was easy to see how quickly Charlotte could become so enamoured with them, but it's never a good sign, in any relationship, when you allow yourself to become so consumed by another person that you lose a sense of who you are as an individual.

Charlotte takes on the role of emotional caretaker, which is just an expensive way of saying, "Babysitter" for not just Julia, but the entire Buchanan clan. When they needed to make sure Julia behaved, they expected Charlotte to handle it. When problems arose, it was up to Charlotte to take care of it. When things went horribly wrong, they wanted to blame Charlotte. The Buchanans needed to grow up, the whole lot of them. And then there was Sebastian. I liked him the most because he wasn't the stereotypical good-looking rich boy. He was quirky, cute and seemed legitimately taken with Charlotte, but even he needed to man up.  

I usually don't enjoy books that are left open-ended, but this one leaves the reader with a sense of hope for fresh starts and new beginnings. 

Fans of Gatsby and We Were Liars will enjoy this book.  

"Even knowing, as I do now, that grace, power, and, yes, love can hide the darkest elements of the human heart, I would do it all again.” 



Comments

Popular posts from this blog

BLOG TOUR: Frazzled by Booki Vivat (GUEST POST + GIVEAWAY)

Meet Abbie Wu! She’s about to start middle school and she’s totally in crisis.

Abbie Wu is in crisis—and not just because she’s stuck in a family that doesn’t quite get her or because the lunch ladies at school are totally corrupt or because everyone seems to have a “Thing” except her. Abbie Wu is in crisis always.

Heavily illustrated and embarrassingly honest, Frazzled dives right into the mind of this hilariously neurotic middle school girl as she tries to figure out who she is, where she belongs, and how to survive the everyday disasters of growing up. With Abbie’s flair for the dramatic and natural tendency to freak out, middle school has never seemed so nerve-racking!

Packed with hilarious black-and-white illustrations and doodles throughout, Frazzled takes readers through Abbie Wu’s hysterical middle school adventures.

Amazon | B&N





My Thoughts
This book is so freaking adorable! I can't wait to see the finished version with all of Booki's (the author) sketches. I also c…

GUEST AUDIOBOOK REVIEW: Nightmares by Jason Segel

Author: Jason Segel
Read by: Kirsten Miller
Publication: September 9, 2014
By: Penguin Audio/Listening Library (Audio); Unabridged edition
Amazon | Goodreads

Jason Segel, multitalented actor, writer, and musician, teams up with New York Times bestselling author Kirsten Miller for the hilariously frightening middle-grade novel Nightmares!, the first book in a trilogy about a boy named Charlie and a group of kids who must face their fears to save their town. 


Sleeping has never been so scary. And now waking up is even worse!

Charlie Laird has several problems.

1. His dad married a woman he is sure moonlights as a witch.
2. He had to move into her purple mansion, which is NOT a place you want to find yourself after dark.
3.He can’t remember the last time sleeping wasn’t a nightmarish prospect. Like even a nap.

What Charlie doesn’t know is that his problems are about to get a whole lot more real. Nightmares can ruin a good night’s sleep, but when they start slipping out of your dreams and into …

TILL DEATH BLOG TOUR: BOOKS & CUPCAKES

Thanks for stopping by, there be cupcakes here today! *whispers* Really creepy cupcakes.
If you have followed this blog or my Instagram or Pinterest board for any length of time, you've probably seen some of the bookish cupcake creations I've made over the past few years. Book inspired cupcakes, characters as cupcake flavors, release party cupcakes, that sort of thing.Making cupcakes for people makes me happy. 
However, of all the different kinds of cupcakes I have been asked to make, today's definitely take the cake--or the cupcakes--or the finger.  Wait. What?  Stay with me, I'll explain. 
But first...
Author: Jennifer L. Armentrout
Publication: February 28, 2017 By: William Morrow
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Goodreads | iTunes/iBooks |Indie Bound|Book Depository



In New York Times bestselling author Jennifer L. Armentrout’s gripping new novel, a young woman comes home to reclaim her life—even as a murderer plots to end it. . .

It’s been ten years since Sasha Keaton left her …