Wednesday, August 6, 2014

Shelter Me by Catherine Mann

Shelter Me (Second Chance Ranch, #1)
Series: Second Chance Ranch
Publication: August 5, 2014
By: Berkley
Amazon | Goodreads
4 Stars

From USA Today bestselling author Catherine Mann comes this beautiful, heartwarming novel about a returning military officer, the daughter of his fallen commander, and a very special dog with a mission. For fans of Jill Shalvis and Susan Mallery.

Nestled in the sunny fields of Tennessee lies the McDaniel family’s Second Chance Ranch Animal Rescue. Two new arrivals are on their way, but only one is the four-legged kind.

Staff Sergeant Mike Kowalski wants only one thing after he gets home from Iraq: to sleep in a king-sized bed with clean sheets. But first, he has to hand off his fallen commander’s dog, Trooper, to his family without handing off his heart to Sierra…

Sierra McDaniel needs a break. Her family life is crazy, and when she’s not mucking out kennels, she’s slogging through grad school. Sierra certainly doesn’t want another dog, especially one that reminds her of her father. And she definitely doesn’t want to see Mike with that charming smile of his…

But Trooper has a mission of his own. Before too long Mike is moving to the ranch to lend a hand—and hoping for his own second chance with Sierra.


*I received this from the publisher in exchange for an honest review*

I'll admit, when I read the prologue and realized it was from a dog's POV, I wasn't sure this book was going to be for me. However, I knew that somewhere within it's pages was a soldier or two and I am a sucker for soldier stories. 

SECOND CHANCE RANCH was a pleasant surprise for me and that canine POV ended up being one of my favorite parts! In fact, that silly dog affected me more than the humans in the story and choked me up on more than one occasion. Not that the humans aren't entertaining, they are, and this is a story of love, honor, sacrifice and hope. It also has plenty of kissing and face fanning moments, all of which were tastefully done. 

I really enjoyed book and look forward to seeing where Catherin Mann takes the series next!





 

2 comments:

  1. Hmm, I've never read a romance from a dog's pov before! Just the Bunnicula series and the Chet the Dog books. But maybe it's time to expand my world view a bit. ;)

    ReplyDelete
  2. This sounds like a great book and I really like the cover! The fact that part of the book is told through the dogs pov sounds pretty funny! I haven't read a book which had an animal's pov before.

    ReplyDelete