Skip to main content

What I Thought Was True by Huntley Fitzpatrick

What I Thought Was True
Author: Huntley Fitzpatrick
Publication: April 15, 2014
By: Penguin/Dial Books for Young Readers
Amazon | Goodreads
4 stars

From the author of My Life Next Door comes a swoony summertime romance full of expectation and regret, humor and hard questions.

Gwen Castle's Biggest Mistake Ever, Cassidy Somers, is slumming it as a yard boy on her Nantucket-esque island this summer. He's a rich kid from across the bridge in Stony Bay, and she hails from a family of fishermen and housecleaners who keep the island's summer people happy. Gwen worries a life of cleaning houses will be her fate too, but just when it looks like she'll never escape her past—or the island—Gwen's dad gives her some shocking advice. Sparks fly and secret histories unspool as Gwen spends a gorgeous, restless summer struggling to resolve what she thought was true—about the place she lives, the people she loves, and even herself—with what really is.

A magnetic, push-me-pull-me romance with depth, this is for fans of Sarah Dessen, Jenny Han, and Deb Caletti.


I couldn't wait to get my hands on this book! My Life Next Door is one of my absolute favorite books and while What I Thought Was True does share some of the same characteristics as MLND; well-written, beautiful setting, multi-layered characters, witty banter and complex issues, it is very different. 

I'll be honest, I started and stopped this book several times over the past few weeks. For whatever reason, I just couldn't get into it the way I wanted to, had hoped and expected to. It wasn't until I was sitting on my bathroom floor at 1:00a.m. (so as not to wake the husband up), having just finished the entire 408 pages straight through that I realized WHY I struggled to get into it...

I didn't like Gwen. I'm not even sure I can pinpoint exactly what it was that made me not like her. She's strong willed, snarky, hard working and fiercely protective of her family, all qualities I generally like in MCs, but... I don't think we would be friends in real life. (Which is totally okay.)

Cass was a really good guy! Funny, cute, and loyal, almost to a fault, but it was his patience with Gwen that won me over. Gwen assumes the worst of him (repeatedly) despite knowing EXACTLY how that feels, but Cass doesn't give up. Instead, he chooses to see the best in her and tries to get Gwen to do the same.

There are a lot of adults present in this story which was refreshing, even if some of them shocked and infuriated me at times. (I'm looking at you Gwen's parents.) But the most intriguing thing about What I Thought Was True (for me) was the honest look it took at the emotional side of sex. 
  
Having "just sex" versus being in love, using sex as a weapon, and the physical consequences were discussed, but these characters found themselves in situations because of choices they made, and it was SO NICE to see them take responsibility for that. Forgiveness was another key element as well as hope. And that Epilogue was perfect!

Thank you fellow YABC Editor, Kim for passing this one on to me!






Comments

  1. I never really thought about whether I would like Gwen IRL....this book was definitely different than MLND, but I still loved it. (Did you see the little reference to MLND?) I totally agree with they was that sex was dealt with in this book. I also liked that the family was tight knit, even if Gwen had to sort through some pretty terrible advice from the adults in her life.

    Kate @ Ex Libris

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

BLOG TOUR + BAKING WITH ROTH & ZAYNE: Stone Cold Touch by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Welcome to Jenuine Cupcakes! This is my stop on the Stone Cold Touch tour and you're in for a treat because Roth and Zayne stopped by to make cupcakes for Layla. More on that in a minute. 

 ~ About the Book ~
Every touch has its price

Layla Shaw is trying to pick up the pieces of her shattered life—no easy task for a seventeen-year-old who’s pretty sure things can’t get worse. Her impossibly gorgeous best friend, Zayne, is forever off-limits thanks to the mysterious powers of her soul-stealing kiss. The Warden clan that has always protected her is suddenly keeping dangerous secrets. And she can barely think about Roth, the wickedly hot demon prince who understood her in ways no one else could.
But sometimes rock bottom is only the beginning. Because suddenly Layla’s powers begin to evolve, and she’s offered a tantalizing taste of what has always been forbidden.  Then, when she least expects it, Roth returns, bringing news that could change her world forever. She’s finally getting what …

BLOG TOUR: Frazzled by Booki Vivat (GUEST POST + GIVEAWAY)

Meet Abbie Wu! She’s about to start middle school and she’s totally in crisis.

Abbie Wu is in crisis—and not just because she’s stuck in a family that doesn’t quite get her or because the lunch ladies at school are totally corrupt or because everyone seems to have a “Thing” except her. Abbie Wu is in crisis always.

Heavily illustrated and embarrassingly honest, Frazzled dives right into the mind of this hilariously neurotic middle school girl as she tries to figure out who she is, where she belongs, and how to survive the everyday disasters of growing up. With Abbie’s flair for the dramatic and natural tendency to freak out, middle school has never seemed so nerve-racking!

Packed with hilarious black-and-white illustrations and doodles throughout, Frazzled takes readers through Abbie Wu’s hysterical middle school adventures.

Amazon | B&N





My Thoughts
This book is so freaking adorable! I can't wait to see the finished version with all of Booki's (the author) sketches. I also c…

TILL DEATH BLOG TOUR: BOOKS & CUPCAKES

Thanks for stopping by, there be cupcakes here today! *whispers* Really creepy cupcakes.
If you have followed this blog or my Instagram or Pinterest board for any length of time, you've probably seen some of the bookish cupcake creations I've made over the past few years. Book inspired cupcakes, characters as cupcake flavors, release party cupcakes, that sort of thing.Making cupcakes for people makes me happy. 
However, of all the different kinds of cupcakes I have been asked to make, today's definitely take the cake--or the cupcakes--or the finger.  Wait. What?  Stay with me, I'll explain. 
But first...
Author: Jennifer L. Armentrout
Publication: February 28, 2017 By: William Morrow
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Goodreads | iTunes/iBooks |Indie Bound|Book Depository



In New York Times bestselling author Jennifer L. Armentrout’s gripping new novel, a young woman comes home to reclaim her life—even as a murderer plots to end it. . .

It’s been ten years since Sasha Keaton left her …