Skip to main content

Fast & Furious Friday

Hey, thanks for stopping by today! 
It's the first Friday in April and I'm sitting here wondering how in the cupcake THAT happened?! I mean, last time I checked it was Valentine's Day. 
  Okay, so maybe St. Patrick's Day, but whatever.


I don't know about you, but this year is going way too fast for my liking AND my "To Be Reviewed Pile". While I've had the opportunity (one I don't take lightly or for granted) to read some pretty amazing books, there are always a few that weren't really my flavor of cupcake, BUT might be yours.
So, here they are in Fast & Furious Friday style...


The Here and Now by Ann Brashares 
Audiobook Penguin Random House
April 8, 2014
Delacorte Press
The Here and Now An unforgettable epic romantic thriller about a girl from the future who might be able to save the world . . . if she lets go of the one thing she’s found to hold on to.

Follow the rules. Remember what happened. Never fall in love.

This is the story of seventeen-year-old Prenna James, who immigrated to New York when she was twelve. Except Prenna didn’t come from a different country. She came from a different time—a future where a mosquito-borne illness has mutated into a pandemic, killing millions and leaving the world in ruins.

Prenna and the others who escaped to the present day must follow a strict set of rules: never reveal where they’re from, never interfere with history, and never, ever be intimate with anyone outside their community. Prenna does as she’s told, believing she can help prevent the plague that will one day ravage the earth.

But everything changes when Prenna falls for Ethan Jarves.

From Ann Brashares, the #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants series, The Here and Now is thrilling, exhilarating, haunting, and heartbreaking—and a must-read novel of the year.

Fast & Furious: The cover is what piqued my interest in this book. A futueristic sci-fi with a hint of romance and a splash of time-travel. The pacing is good and the story interesting, but the ending leaves something to be desired. (Like a sequel maybe?) The audio is well done, the narrator changes the pitch and tone of her voice when switching between characters so we get a good idea of who is from the now and who is...not.

5 Star Review: Evie via Goodreads

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/18242896-the-here-and-now?ac=1



Far From You by Tess Sharpe 
April 8, 2014
Disney-Hyperion
Far From You
 Sophie Winters nearly died. Twice.

The first time, she's fourteen, and escapes a near-fatal car accident with scars, a bum leg, and an addiction to Oxy that'll take years to kick.

The second time, she's seventeen, and it's no accident. Sophie and her best friend Mina are confronted by a masked man in the woods. Sophie survives, but Mina is not so lucky. When the cops deem Mina's murder a drug deal gone wrong, casting partial blame on Sophie, no one will believe the truth: Sophie has been clean for months, and it was Mina who led her into the woods that night for a meeting shrouded in mystery.

After a forced stint in rehab, Sophie returns home to a chilly new reality. Mina's brother won't speak to her, her parents fear she'll relapse, old friends have become enemies, and Sophie has to learn how to live without her other half. To make matters worse, no one is looking in the right places and Sophie must search for Mina's murderer on her own. But with every step, Sophie comes closer to revealing all: about herself, about Mina and about the secret they shared.

Fast & Furious: Love the cover and the blurb is intriguing. Murder, mystery, and a realistic look at addiction and complicated relationships. (Not your average love triangle. Click here for more info, however, the link is spoilery.)

5 Star Review: The Book Hookup

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/16151118-far-from-you



Dark Metropolis (Dark Metropolis #1)
Jaclyn Dolamore
June 17, 2014
Disney-Hyperion
Dark Metropolis (Dark Metropolis, #1)Cabaret meets Cassandra Clare-a haunting magical thriller set in a riveting 1930s-esque world.

Sixteen-year-old Thea Holder's mother is cursed with a spell that's driving her mad, and whenever they touch, Thea is chilled by the magic, too. With no one else to contribute, Thea must make a living for both of them in a sinister city, where danger lurks and greed rules.
Thea spends her nights waitressing at the decadent Telephone Club attending to the glitzy clientele. But when her best friend, Nan, vanishes, Thea is compelled to find her. She meets Freddy, a young, magnetic patron at the club, and he agrees to help her uncover the city's secrets-even while he hides secrets of his own.

Together, they find a whole new side of the city. Unrest is brewing behind closed doors as whispers of a gruesome magic spread. And if they're not careful, the heartless masterminds behind the growing disappearances will be after them, too.

Perfect for fans of Cassandra Clare, this is a chilling thriller with a touch of magic where the dead don't always seem to stay that way.

Fast & Furious: You might have figured out by now that I'm a sucker for a pretty/cool/intriguing cover and this one is no different. Zombies, romance, magic and more, all set in an alternative 1930s Germany. Fans of historical romance (with a twist) will enjoy this one.

Not sure what you're getting into? Click here for a few F.A.Q. from the author.


https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/12483970-dark-metropolis?ac=1




Comments

Popular posts from this blog

BLOG TOUR: Frazzled by Booki Vivat (GUEST POST + GIVEAWAY)

Meet Abbie Wu! She’s about to start middle school and she’s totally in crisis.

Abbie Wu is in crisis—and not just because she’s stuck in a family that doesn’t quite get her or because the lunch ladies at school are totally corrupt or because everyone seems to have a “Thing” except her. Abbie Wu is in crisis always.

Heavily illustrated and embarrassingly honest, Frazzled dives right into the mind of this hilariously neurotic middle school girl as she tries to figure out who she is, where she belongs, and how to survive the everyday disasters of growing up. With Abbie’s flair for the dramatic and natural tendency to freak out, middle school has never seemed so nerve-racking!

Packed with hilarious black-and-white illustrations and doodles throughout, Frazzled takes readers through Abbie Wu’s hysterical middle school adventures.

Amazon | B&N





My Thoughts
This book is so freaking adorable! I can't wait to see the finished version with all of Booki's (the author) sketches. I also c…

GUEST AUDIOBOOK REVIEW: Nightmares by Jason Segel

Author: Jason Segel
Read by: Kirsten Miller
Publication: September 9, 2014
By: Penguin Audio/Listening Library (Audio); Unabridged edition
Amazon | Goodreads

Jason Segel, multitalented actor, writer, and musician, teams up with New York Times bestselling author Kirsten Miller for the hilariously frightening middle-grade novel Nightmares!, the first book in a trilogy about a boy named Charlie and a group of kids who must face their fears to save their town. 


Sleeping has never been so scary. And now waking up is even worse!

Charlie Laird has several problems.

1. His dad married a woman he is sure moonlights as a witch.
2. He had to move into her purple mansion, which is NOT a place you want to find yourself after dark.
3.He can’t remember the last time sleeping wasn’t a nightmarish prospect. Like even a nap.

What Charlie doesn’t know is that his problems are about to get a whole lot more real. Nightmares can ruin a good night’s sleep, but when they start slipping out of your dreams and into …

TILL DEATH BLOG TOUR: BOOKS & CUPCAKES

Thanks for stopping by, there be cupcakes here today! *whispers* Really creepy cupcakes.
If you have followed this blog or my Instagram or Pinterest board for any length of time, you've probably seen some of the bookish cupcake creations I've made over the past few years. Book inspired cupcakes, characters as cupcake flavors, release party cupcakes, that sort of thing.Making cupcakes for people makes me happy. 
However, of all the different kinds of cupcakes I have been asked to make, today's definitely take the cake--or the cupcakes--or the finger.  Wait. What?  Stay with me, I'll explain. 
But first...
Author: Jennifer L. Armentrout
Publication: February 28, 2017 By: William Morrow
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Goodreads | iTunes/iBooks |Indie Bound|Book Depository



In New York Times bestselling author Jennifer L. Armentrout’s gripping new novel, a young woman comes home to reclaim her life—even as a murderer plots to end it. . .

It’s been ten years since Sasha Keaton left her …