Saturday, November 7, 2015

#IHeartMyHair REVIEW: I Love My Hair: A Coloring Book of Braids, Coils, and Doodle Dos by Andrea Pippens

I Love My Hair: A Coloring Book of Braids, Coils, and Doodle DosAuthor: Andrea Pippins
Publication: November 10, 2015
By: Schwartz & Wade
Amazon | B&N | Goodreads 

For fans of Johanna Basford’s Secret Garden and Enchanted Forest comes a hip, gorgeous doodle coloring book about all things hair. Unlike other adult coloring books, which depict nature scenes and cityscapes, this title celebrates strong, confident women with a passion for style, design, and fashion.

Revel in the mesmerizing patterns and intricate details of Andrea Pippins’s delicate pen-and-ink illustrations, ready for you to color, complete, and embellish. Lose yourself in page after page of bold hairstyles and accessories, from rows of braids, to Mohawks, to sweeping updos, to cascades of ribbons and beads. Be transported to another world as you ink in Medusa’s slithering coiffure, Cleopatra’s elaborate headdress, and Marie Antoinette’s towering bouffant.

Perfect for experienced color-inners and newcomers alike. Coloring enthusiasts of all ages will love this empowering and stylish book. So go ahead—let your hair down, grab some pens or pencils, and add some color to your life.




*Thank you Cassie and Penguin Random House for sending a copy for review* 

This is my first adult coloring book, and even though I'm not completely sold on the idea, I jumped at the chance to try this one because the author is local to me. 

And I'm SO GLAD I DID!

Coloring is something you can do while listening to an audiobook, riding in the car, or watching T.V. It's a great stress reliever, too. The illustrations in I Love My Hair are beautiful, fun, and the topic is totally relateable, regardless of your current relationship status with your hair.

My Hair Relationship Status: It's complicated.

Use can use a variety of tools to color this one from crayons (my kids' Crayolas worked fine, though the color choices are limited), gel pens, markers, you name it. This is one everyone can enjoy!




 

 

~ About the Author ~ 


Photo Credit: Danielle Finney
ANDREA PIPPINS is an artist, a designer, and an educator with a penchant for cool and a personality as warm as her Brazilian roots. Her work can be seen in magazines and on television as well as on clothing and stationery. Andrea teaches at the Maryland Institute College of Art and curates her fashion, art, and design blog, Fly, a weekly resource to inspire young women to pursue their creative passions. She also produces digital and screen-printed artwork in which she explores color, pattern, and texture while interpreting her personal experiences as an African American woman. Andrea lives in Baltimore. This is her first book.




http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/0399551220/ref=x_gr_w_bb?ie=UTF8&tag=x_gr_w_bb-20&linkCode=as2&camp=1789&creative=9325&creativeASIN=0399551220&SubscriptionId=1MGPYB6YW3HWK55XCGG2
 

No comments:

Post a Comment