Friday, May 24, 2013

BLOG TOUR: The Rules for Disappearing by Ashley Elston


Welcome to Jenuine Cupcakes!
This is my stop on The Rules For Disappearing Blog Tour
which is being hosted by Itching for Books.




The Rules for Disappearing Author: Ashley Elston
Publication: May 14, 2013
By: Disney-Hyperion

She’s been six different people in six different places: Madeline in Ohio, Isabelle in Missouri, Olivia in Kentucky . . . But now that she’s been transplanted to rural Louisiana, she has decided that this fake identity will be her last.

Witness Protection has taken nearly everything from her. But for now, they’ve given her a new name, Megan Rose Jones, and a horrible hair color. For the past eight months, Meg has begged her father to answer one question: What on earth did he do – or see – that landed them in this god-awful mess? Meg has just about had it with all the Suits’ rules — and her dad’s silence. If he won’t help, it’s time she got some answers for herself.

But Meg isn’t counting on Ethan Landry, an adorable Louisiana farm boy who’s too smart for his own good. He knows Meg is hiding something big. And it just might get both of them killed. As they embark on a perilous journey to free her family once and for all, Meg discovers that there’s only one rule that really matters — survival.





My Thoughts
I used to fantasize about being in the Witness Protection Program when I was a kid. I was a weird child, what can I say?  The sense of adventure, being able to "be" someone else and the idea that your life would never be boring all appealed to me.  However, fear, paranoia and the fact that I'd have to cut my hair and wear hideous clothes never played into my fantasy because really, where's the fun in that? 

What I liked: This is one of those books that pleasantly surprised me. It's well written, humorous with fast-paced action right from the start and the mystery and suspense of not knowing who Meg can really trust kept me on my toes.  Did I mention the kissing, because you can never go wrong with kissing, even when you're in the midst of running for your life.  

Despite the chaos of their lives, Meg and her family are tight-knit albeit extremely dysfunctional. Meg has to be guarded and often times she's a tough character to like but if she was written any other way she wouldn't feel genuine. Ethan is an enjoyable blend of strength, compassion, wit and don't even get me started on that dimple of his. The rest of the supporting characters were complex and interesting. The ending while not necessarily shocking, did leave me wanting to know what happens next.  

What left me wanting: When I picked this up, I wasn't aware that it was the first book in a trilogy or a series and I'm looking forward to finding out more about Ethan's story which was eluded too but not fully explained in this book.

Final verdict: Fans of Alias, Altered, Also Known As and Pivot Point will enjoy this!

Review also posted at YABC.



About the Author
   
Ashley Elston lives is North Louisiana with her husband, three sons and two cats. She worked as a wedding and portrait photographer for ten years until she decided to pursue writing full time. Ashley is also a licensed Landscape Horticulturist and helps her husband run a commercial lawn and landscaping business. They also custom harvest pecans and have cows. Yes, cows.









 GIVEAWAY

a Rafflecopter giveaway

1 comment: